An artifact from the Titanic, disappeared for over a century and presumed to be lost forever, has finally resurfaced.
The 1.8 kilogram bronze and silver plaque was originally given to the shipbuilder after the construction of the ship was completed. The object was inscribed with the ship’s name and the words ‘Queen of the Ocean’, along with the date of the ship’s first and final major voyage on 10 April, 1912.
The plaque was given to Lord William James Pirrie, chairman of the shipbuilder that made the Titanic, but the location of the object remained a mystery after the ship’s wreck in 1912. It was finally rediscovered in 2003 by a Spanish art gallery owner named Leo Lorenzo Sancho, who only recently put the artifact on display to the public at the Granada Science Park in Spain.
Incredibly, the Sancho and his collector grandfather initially didn’t realise the importance of the object they had snatched up from a British man over a decade ago. Mr Sancho had simply wanted it to “decorate his room”. However, when he asked the Titanic Foundation if they would be interested in displaying it at an exhibition at the Science Park called Titanic, the Reconstruction this year, they jumped at the chance.
It’s now the main attraction at the exhibition, which runs until January 2016.
Mr Sancho has been offered a “significant amount” for the plaque, but has no plans to sell it yet.